Kiss Me Teet

So, some of you reading this blog may be pondering over the reference to the name of my blog “Kiss Me Teet”. Well, let me explain for those of you who don’t know or understand the term.

I come from an Afro-Caribbean background and I am of mixed race, and when black/mixed race people are either……

  • Angry
  • Distressed
  • Pissed Off
  • Vexed
  • Upset
  • In Argument
  • In Pain
  • In Disagreement
  • Have Dropped or Broken Something
  • Can’t Find Something

(this list is not exhaustive)

………they will voice their emotion by making a distinct teeth and tongue sucking sound called “Kissing Teeth”.  To European folk, you may refer to your own version of “Kissing Teeth” by making a “Tutting” sound using your tongue and teeth.  If you are a fan of facebook you will often see folk use the acronym KMT which in effect is them “Kissing My Teeth” at some situation or someones comment or status.

I cannot explain it any better than Urban Dictionary:-

A sound that is made with the mouth to show disapproval or anger toward something. This action is commonly used amongst Jamaicans and other West Indians…

If you wish to hear the sound for yourself to clarify, do something to piss off a Jamaican and you will 99% of the time hear the sound in it’s full glory. The other 1% probably didn’t hear you!….I cannot however guarantee you will walk away in one piece from this situation therefore take appropriate or evasive action!…don’t say I didn’t warn ya! 🙂

So as for the next year or so, maybe more, whilst I go through my treatments for breast cancer (Surgeries, Chemotherapy, Radiotherapy etc etc), whilst I deal with all of the emotional upheaval this crappy disease has inflicted on me and my family, I will no doubt have plenty of “Kiss Me Teet” moments……hence, my blog name.

About kissmeteet

47, wife, mother of 3 and nanny to 2, Christian. 6 year survivor of stage II Breast Cancer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kiss Me Teet

  1. Debbie Johnson says:

    LMAO!! Iv just started reading ur blog and feel like im on this journey with you and im feeling ur highs and lows already, u just keep it so real. Stay strong, as you are a woman of God with a God blessed personality and full of love xxx

  2. Buki says:

    We nigerians kiss me teet too

Leave a Reply

