Unsuccessful Surgery….so now its my tit or my life!

Well…the day of my surgery arrived. I had agreed with my surgeon Mr Hamish Brown that what I needed was a Wide Local Excision to remove the offending growth and also a biopsy of my lymph nodes under my armpit which is where breast cancer starts to spread to first.

My check in at hospital was unremarkable really, I starved from mid-night, arrived at the hospital for 07:15, kissed my wonderful husband goodbye as I walked away from him with the nurse the tears were running down my cheek…I didn’t let him see that though…it was just an emotional moment and I wished they’d let him stay with me until I went down…….as they didnt call for me from theatre until after 1PM!!! “KMT”

Can  just say something about being put to sleep by general anaesthic…..I find it quite funny. I’ve been under GA many times in the past and don’t fear it at all as I know I will wake up.  But the smell of the gas and that feeling of slowly drifting off into a place im unaware of is amazing.  They put a needle into the back of your hand (with me they tried about 3 times….bad veins) and they inject some juice and within moments…..you’ve gone.  I wonder if they pinch you to ensure you really have gone to sleep and you’re not just pratting about lol.

Anyway, the next thing I remember is one of the recovery nurses calling my name and I opened my eyes and could see some blurred figures over me.  She told me where I was (Durrrr……Im in hospital) but I guess some people when they wake up after a GA completely off on one and lose it. I distinctly remember feeling for my right breast to see if it’s still there but i was covered in padding and blankets and couldn’t work out if a breast was there so I remember asking the nurse. She confirmed my breast was still in situ! Pheww!

So after an hour or so they took me back to the ward where the nursing staff monitored me for a few more hours before calling my hubby to come and get me.

I recovered quite quickly at home, was sore for a while and I still can’t completely stretch my right arm up above my head but it’s getting better every day with the exercises I have to do.

RESULTS

So…back to see my surgeon a week or so later to discuss the outcome of surgery and the pathology report. To cut what could be a long story short, the pathologist found 2 types of cancer in my right breast, this means my breast is known as “unstable” and calmly my surgeon said “Lisa, the best thing to do is take the breast off”……gutted!

He said I should have chemotherapy first for 6 months which will hopefully kill off all the cancer cells in my body then after chemo he will remove my breast, I will then have 15 rounds of radiotherapy and I can consider reconstruction 12 months after that.  This is a long journey, I only pray I get to the end of it.

One day at a time Lisa….one day at a time.

About kissmeteet

47, wife, mother of 3 and nanny to 2, Christian. 6 year survivor of stage II Breast Cancer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unsuccessful Surgery….so now its my tit or my life!

  1. mizb11 says:

    One Day @ A Time Babeegyrl xxxx

  2. Paula says:

    Hi Lisa , I have read your blog and your inspirational please do keep it going. I was told about your blog by my husand roger who you know very well. I work for the nhs national cancer action team, and I’m responsible for patient experience, we are holding an event At the house of commons in December, we would love it if you decided to come. It’s called ‘cancer does not discriminate’ it’s a campaign we are lunching aimed specifically at our people to both inform them about what to look for, and how we can make sure Nhs services are responsive to meet the needs of our community, especially around support after treatment has ended.

    Blogs like yours and the experiences your sharing are truly informative and inspiring to families affected by cancer, we absolutely need to have our stories told and heard, I’m just glad hubby told me about you. Not sure if you know but, and at the moment they may not be relevant, but there are a few specific support services set up for black women. Better days cancer support, black cancer care and cancer hair care. Unfortunately all are located in London. But some of them do offer support via e-mail and the phone.

    Your clearly in good hands with the experiences of the services you’ve had at present, with loads of friends to support you. As your Journey progresses should you need anything or want to know more about support available please don’t hesitate to contact me.

    Keep blogging, your a positive inspiration Lisa.

    Paula

    Paula.Lloyd-knight@ncat.nhs.uk

  3. Hey Lisa.I just read your blog & finding it hard to even comprehend what you may be going through.I want to thank you for sharing & hope in some strange way its therapeutic for you.. My thoughts are with you and your family at this time.All the best xx

  4. eztrader says:

    I used to be recommended this web site by means of the relative. I am not sure whether it placed is definitely created as a result of your ex as no one have an understanding of such accurate concerning our difficulties. That you are fantastic! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

