Tits Up!

Well, its done.

I am now the proud owner of one breast….thats right, not two, but one…..KMT

The surgery in itself went OK, I was in hospital by 7:15am on 4th May, in theatre at 08:50 and would you believe I was out of hospital by 3:00pm the same day *BBM shock face* – yes thats right…..out the same day.  Now then, not so many years ago, if you had your booby removed, you would be in hospital for anything up to 10 days with drains hanging out your chest and being drip fed for days……but oh no….not now.  Its in……chop….stitch…..out…..NEXT! 🙂

So how do I feel?…you mean besides being frikkin mega tired all the time??….Well, its now 18 days since pinky left me (yes, her name was pinky).  Im still quite achey and sore, I describe it as being kicked in the ribs by a donkey.  I have whats called a seroma, which is a swelling around the removed breast…in some ways the swelling makes it look like I’ve still got a booby there….albetit a smaller one without a nipple, but no, its definitely gone. Amazingly, I still have a cleavage too! The swelling is rather uncomfortable, I can have it drained if it becomes too much to cope with….but as Im made of strong stuff…..Im coping…..just…..with copious amounts of pain relief *druggy*.  My sister said to me before the op…“Lisa babes, don’t go googling Mastectomy videos or look at Mastectomy on You Tube before your op will you?”  I listened to her advice and I didn’t, but as soon as I was well enough I bloody did….man…….now I know why I’m in so much pain!!!

The worse pains are the nerves…..jheezzze – no-one warned me about the nerve thing!!  every few minutes it feels like someone got a hot knitting needle and stabbed me in the scar, then I get a rush of burning sensations and finally like someone pinching me…..I know all you mastectomy ladies out there are sitting there nodding in agreement at that description….its bloomin awful. Im told it will lessen as time goes on. I love that word “time” – as 8 months ago I was sure I didn’t have any!!

Say Hello To Sponge Bob

So now when I go out I have a new friend with me.  May I introduce you to my newest and closest best friend, his name is Sponge Bob and he is very pleased to meet you.  It hilarious, when the door bell rings, I fly around the house looking for my false tit! 🙂  When I use it, you really cannot tell the  “bump” under my clothes is not my own breast.  I will be fitted in a few weeks for my more permanent prothesis so I will no doubt introduce you to it once I have it, I will have to think of names for that one too, its more realistic looking with a fleshy feel and look to it….heres hoping that they do it in “mixed race” colour tone :-).

The scar – well, its long, goes from my cleavage across my chest to just level with under my arm. But right now, due to the swelling I cannot tell what it will end up like. I dont particularly like looking at the scar, it just looks odd so Ive got my head in the sand at the moment ignoring it hoping it will go away lol, its probably just my coping mechanism.  I hope you dont mind me not taking a picture of my scar and showing it to you, if you really want to know what it looks like, I will charge £25.00 a look! loooool.

I had my pathology results from the Mastectomy 10 days after surgery.  We were as nervous as heck as the point of this meeting was to establish whether the months of chemo had worked on the tumour/s.  You will be pleased to know that when they examined my breast in some random lab somewhere in England they found no residual or active cancer cells.  There was also no active cancer in the Lymph Nodes, I had all of those under my arm removed.  It was the best results we could of hoped for and I am grateful, thankful to God, and the man/woman who invented chemo 🙂

So thats me…..just going through the motions of learning to live with one breast for 12 months. Im not really looking forward to the hotter months (its bloody hot now) as I have to figure out how I am going to dress for being 3 dress sizes bigger than I was last summer and also have one tit……K.M.T. Roll on Winter!

Hair growth – 7 weeks after chemo ended

My Hair is coming along nicely, still quite thin on top but slowly, surely eh! No rush.

Radiotherapy starts soon, not had the appointent yet about getting zapped, im sure there will be ups and downs of that too, but in the meantime peeps……….have you checked your breasts recently? Just today alone, 125 women heard the words “I’m afraid to tell you that you have Breast Cancer”

Love,Light & Blessings 🙂

Lisa

About kissmeteet

46, wife, mother of 3 and nanny to 2, Christian. 4 year survivor of stage II Breast Cancer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tits Up!

  1. Liz says:

    Hang in there sis. You have overcome the worst. Any tips for the best way/time to check the breasts and what to look out for? xx

  2. Ruthie says:

    Babe I am loving your false tit ! It rocks . Love always . Ruthie xxxxx

  3. djdeneez says:

    Hey Leese – what an adventure you’ve come through – you are and always will be a great inspiration fi real 🙂 bless you mwah and big hugs – not to tight as I don’t want to squash Sponge Bob…. LOL xxx bless

  4. Lorna says:

    Lisa, Glad to hear from you and ecstatic on the pathology tests… My dear, continue to keep your spirit up … squeeze Sponge Bob for me… 🙂

  5. Joy Scott says:

    Lovely Lisa ,you are such an inspiration all through your Journey you have managed to make us smile as well as pass on good information So pleased you have Sponge Bob as an alias for Pinky. I am overjoyed and pleased that all your Pathology tests had great results. be encoraged my dear,your are now Big C Free. love you Girl
    ps had my first routine mammogram my big ole 40F felt like 28AA after being squished

  6. dougeharper says:

    Great post Lisa
    Keep on keeping on girl
    Doug
    XXXX

  7. Karen says:

    I have really enjoyed reading you blog, it has shown me how strong people can be, namley you, you even made me smile with your good sense of humour. Keep doing what ur doin, keep the faith, all the best x

Leave a Reply

