I Got 99 Problems But My Tit Ain’t One!

“I am happy to report that your mammogram shows no abnormalities”.

Assuring and calming words from my breast surgery team in a letter I received during the week.  I knew it was my results letter and no word of a lie it took me about 10 minutes pacing up and down the house to work up the courage to open it.  I do know some women whose mammogram had resulted in a “recall” letter and those words I just did not want to see.

However, does it really assure me that all is well? My original mammogram although it showed the first tumour it did not show the other one which was growing behind it…..so that causes a bit of doubt in my mind  – but other than asking my surgeon to cut open my one remaining useful breast to have a quick “look”…. I just have to accept the results are accurate and my left breast is clear of cancer.

There has been a lot of press recently about mammograms and whether they are beneficial and do women end up having “unnecessary” surgery on areas that “look suspicious” but would have never become a cancer.  I watched an interview recently with a woman on Sky News who refuses to have mammograms as she says her risks are very low.  She doesn’t smoke (neither did I), She was fit and healthy (so was I), she didn’t eat that much red meat (neither did I), she has no family history of breast cancers (neither did I)………are any bells ringing with my readers here???

I too was “low risk”. I too could have ticked “all the above”, yet the little bastard still got me. I’m sure I said it before, my oncologist couldn’t tell me why I was one of the 50,000 women a year in the UK who get breast cancer.  He said there was so much research going on and different camps say different things and come to different conclusions, however, they ALL agree on one thing.

“If you have breasts……….you’re fair game love”

Ladies – go and have your mammograms if you are called. I wouldn’t wish this shit on ANYBODY!

Love, Light & Blessings 🙂

Lisa

About kissmeteet

46, wife, mother of 3 and nanny to 2, Christian. 4 year survivor of stage II Breast Cancer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Got 99 Problems But My Tit Ain’t One!

  1. Marcia Williams says:

    I am so happy for you Lisa I have read yours blogs from the beginning of your journey and I know you are a strong woman you are blessed xx

  2. Claire says:

    So glad that instead of 100 there are just 99 ‘other’ problems. Blessings and peace sis! xxx

  3. ROBERT ASA MITCHELL ..... says:

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx big hug my babe ! ledge

Leave a Reply

